Posted by: thaishin | June 8, 2009

An Aging body

A few months back, one of my friend in his 40s shared that he has a retina tear. Also,  an aged friend of mine at 70 had her front teeth extracted because it was causing her pain and she cast a set of teeth to replace them.  All signs of an aging body.

Now that I am in my 40s, my body is also showing signs of wear and tear. My eyes can no longer see clearly at near distance when I put my specs on. I will have to remove my glasses and put my face near the words to read them.  Used to have no problem carrying heavy objects. Recently, I tried carrying 2 gallons of liquid using one hand and already felt the strain on the muscles between my thumb and my index finger. Only recently also, whenever I brush my teeth and bend towards the mirror, I feel aches on my back. It reminded me to do my sit-ups to strengthen my back muscles. I have to remind myself that I am getting old and that my body can no longer function the way that it used to and I have to take care of myself also.

Now that I am in my 40s and aging fast, I expect some illness to come upon me later on.  I already have high cholesterol (doctor said it is hereditary). My mother has diabetes. I think her diabetes came on her around 50s. It is possible  that I will have diabetes come 50s since diabetes is also hereditary.  My auntie on my mom side died of colorectal cancer and probably I will have to do colorectal screening when I am in my 50s.

A piece of good news amid the doom and gloom though. When I was in Singapore to fit a new pair of glasses, the optometrist told me that my short-sightedness degrees improved. I wonder what I did. Maybe it was the mercy of God.

As we journey on this earth towards our heavenly home, we can only hope for the day when we will  experience no more pain:

Revelations 21:

4And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. -kjv

Responses

  1. Can’t agree more…takes longer to recover from runs and other physical activities…

  2. We are getting old, brother


Leave a Reply

Categories

