Posted by: thaishin | July 23, 2009

Introducing grace to my son

We were doing some shopping at a nearby mall and were on our way to another place when my 3 year old ran to the middle of the road in the car park. We could see some cars driving into the parking lot and our son was happily making some actions as he dances in the middle of the road. We called to him but he refused to listen. We quickly pulled him to one side and as we make our way to our car, I told him that I will punish him when we get home. He cried out of fear for the punishment for he knows when I say I will punish him, I will punish him.

Inside the car, he was still crying. This went on for some time. Finally, I told him: I will pardon him this time but only because of Jesus. My son deserves to be punished by disobeying my command and dancing in the middle of the road. If I go according to the book, I would have punished him when he gets home. But I went according to grace and he was pardoned. I gave him what he did not deserve, pardoning him because of Jesus. Hopefully, he will associate Jesus with grace.

In fact, Jesus is grace in the flesh. Our heavenly Father in heaven giving us what we do not deserve – Jesus His Son dying on the cross for us so that man may be reconciled to God. Sounds complicated but really it is simple. God is so holy that man in his sinfulness will die if God appears to us. God is such a just God that His wrath is upon us if he sees our sinfulness and we are separated from Him because of our sinfulness. But, God loves us so much that He sends His Son to die on the cross for us, so that Jesus pays the penalty of our sins and man is reconciled to God via Jesus. That is grace.

Ephesians 2

niv:-

8For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9not by works, so that no one can boast.

kjv:

8For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9Not of works, lest any man should boast.

Responses

  1. Hi Thai Shin,

    It was indeed a powerful way to impart to your son the meaning of God’s grace. Press on…

  2. thank you, eric and luz


Leave a Reply

Categories

