Posted by: thaishin | August 20, 2009

Sense of importance

Another blog theme came to my mind while I was washing my dishes. About a sense of importance. And it is about washing dishes and cooking. Most of the time, my wife is the one who cooks while I am the one who washes the dishes. Thoughts came to my mind that what she is doing something value added while I am not. She contributes to the fulfillment of our tummies while I am doing a menial task of cleaning up the mess. As we talked about it, my wife pointed out that we are just doing what we are best at doing, not about who is doing the more important task. Granted washing dishes is menial while cooking seems more prestigious. After all, you heard of cooking competitions to select the best chef but not competition of who best washes the dishes. But that should not make me feel less important because washing dishes is a chore that has to be done and it’s a matter of dividing the household chores to whoever does it best.

Our sense of importance should not be based on what we do or not do or not even on what we are able to do or not able to do. If God sends his Son to die on the cross to die for me, doesn’t that make me a very important person? I am important to God and that’s what counts.

John 3

16“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. – niv

16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. -kjv

Responses

  1. I must agree with the obove object lesson. Some times we get down in the dumps and feel we are not worth very much or we are not needed, etc.

    No matter how we feel on any given day our Lord & Savior loves us every day the same and we are important to him.

    Let’s try to feel important to ourself. Usually our family can sense if we are having problems. We need to be UP so we can encourage our spouse and children if they are down.

    TRUST IN THE LORD…tomorrow is a different day and things usually look better tomorrow.

  2. Amen brother


Leave a Reply

Categories

