Posted by: thaishin | March 11, 2010

Harnessing his motivation

At this point of time, my son is attending preschool 3 times per week, around 3 hours each session. Other than that, he is either playing games on the computer or watching TV or playing with his toy cars. During winter, that’s about the 3 or 4  things that he does day in day out. Maybe when summer comes, we will send him to some swimming classes.

I have talked to one of my friends and his son is one year younger than my son. He is attending mandarin classes and learning to play the keyboard. He says it’s a singaporean ‘kiasu’ syndrome. ‘Kiasu’ is chinese hokkien dialect meaning afraid to lose out. If I were to compare my son to his,  it is as if my son is losing out. But, I choose not to think about it that way. To each his own.

My son likes to watch TV. He likes to play computer games. So I am harnessing that to my advantage. Sometimes before he goes to the TV or computer I will require him to do some things for me. I will ask him to either read a book from Fitzroy series or learn some chinese words from the learning aid posters or memorize scriptures. And he will be motivated to do these things that he does not like to do and finish it.

There are 10 books from the Fitzroy series and it’s about phonics. Phonics is about learning the sound of each letter or letter combinations so that he is able to read sentences without memorizing individual words. The books increase in difficulty as the book number increase from 1 to 10. He’s able to read the first 5 books now.

Learning mandarin is more difficult than reading the Fitzroy series. He easily forgets the words since he does not use it. I try to speak to him in mandarin sometimes but not using a lot of chinese words here.

He does scripture memory better than learning mandarin. Bible says faith comes from hearing. What better than hiding God’s word in his heart and hopefully he will find it useful when he grows up. The other thing I am trying to do is to read Bible stories to him before he sleeps.

Romans 10

17Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ. -niv

17So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. -kjv

My friends, do share with us how your child learns, if possible, thanks

Responses

  1. Sounds like you are doing your very best, Thai Shin to raise your little guy the “christian way.” Keep up the good work.

  2. Thanks Bob


Leave a Reply

Categories

