Posted by: thaishin | May 11, 2012

Going to the end of himself

My son is able to express himself well enough in English. Well enough to be confident of his own abilities. Well enough to be proud of himself. But not well enough to experience God’s strength. To experience God’s strength, he has to come to the end of his own confidence in himself and know about his own inadequacies. Then I will come in to encourage him to depend on Jesus and depend on strength from God to power him instead of his own confidence. That’s the game plan.
So he will have to start on something new, something challenging to show his inadequacies. I hope to do that this summer to do something more difficult, more challenging so that his inadequacies will show.

Matthew 5:3
3 Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. -kjv

If he is able to be poor in spirit, then the strength of Jesus comes in. I intend to sign him up for basketball. He will continue to swim. He will read more difficult books. He will learn more mandarin. I hope these activities will push him to the limit to show his insufficiencies. Then Jesus comes in.

Responses

  1. I believe it is very different for a child to realize his weaknesses compared to a senior citizen like myself. Kids as they grow older especially in senior high school feel nothing or nobody can slow them down or stop them. Then something new occurs and they may partially learn. For myself after experiencing health problems and now older age with the health problems I am confident that I alone am weak…very weak some days and I need a pickup from a super power like God. I don’t worry any more about if I will die but think often when it will happen. Perhaps this is a plan of our creator. It is hard to give up and die when we are strong and tough. As we get older and weak and sick in many cases death is a blessing IF we are prepared for eternity. I have learned that I can do almost nothing with my own power. I need help.

    I trust I expressed myself correctly Thai Shin.

  2. You are right, probably my son is too young to understand what I am saying now. Thanks for sharing your point of view, my friend. I don’t know what to say but just keep quiet and pray that Jesus do the work in you and for you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

