Posted by: thaishin | May 20, 2012

An example

Philippians 3:17

17 Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample. -kjv

17 Join together in following my example, brothers and sisters, and just as you have us as a model, keep your eyes on those who live as we do -niv

Here, Paul is asking the philippian church to follow his example in living out the christian life, specifically regards to not to put confidence in the flesh and putting Jesus first. I have actually resolved in my heart that I do not want anybody to follow me but to follow Jesus. This is because I think that it is pride to want to have followers and pointing at myself most of the time. I need to point that somebody to Jesus instead. But come to think of it, in an earthly sense, I will at least need to set an example for my son because I am in close proximity to him and I can influence him by setting an example for him. This sets me thinking – in what ways do I want him to follow me. I think I will want to pass on to him the values that I hold and that can only be passed on by living it out in everyday life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

