Posted by: thaishin | January 3, 2013

Done in moderation

You have heard it before, do everything in moderation, do not go to extremes. Finally, I found the verse that speaks of that in

Titus 2:2

2 That the aged men be sober, grave, temperate, sound in faith, in charity, in patience. – kjv

2 Teach the older men to be temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, in love and in endurance. -niv

2 that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; -nkjv

The word temperate means moderate or self-restrained, not excessive in degree as things, qualities etc. It’s biblical to do things in moderation.

Responses

  1. Each time I hear or read about “do in moderation” I must admit I have a habit…a bad habit that also is sinful. I do not eat food to sustain my body nor do I eat in moderation. That is why I am overweight. I sin with food every day. As hard as I try I sin with food and this sin shows to everyone when they look at my stomach.

    Dear God. Please give me an appetite as a little bird so I will not sin against you and against myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

