Posted by: thaishin | April 19, 2015

Suffering draws one closer to God

When one suffers, he/she has the choice to draw near to or turn away from God. If the person makes the choice to draw near to God, he/she draws upon the strength that comes from above to endure the tribulation. He/She certainly would not like to go through it but it is suffering that moulds the character of God’s children and he/she will definitely look back at it to marvel at how God led him/her through the tribulation. It is through suffering that one grows/matures in one’s christian faith.

Psalms 120:1

In my distress I cried unto the Lord, and he heard me.  -kjv

I call on the Lord in my distress, and he answers me.  -niv

In my distress I called to the Lordand He answered me.  -hcsb

Responses

  1. This is a simple answer for me. I have had my share of tribulations in my life time. Some like yours have been small and others so huge I never thought I would survive them. With my God’s wisdom and strength he knew exactly what and when I needed and I am still here…and still having problems even worse as I get older and can’t do things as I did in my youth. IF we belong to God he will carry us through the toughest of times and yes we will be more wiser than when we began the journey.

    • Hi Robert,

      What advice do you have for people like me raising a soon to be teenager?


Leave a Reply

Categories

